In this contemporary society, many individuals claim that it is time-wasting to learn a foreign language due to the fact that languages can be translated more quickly and accurately by computers in such a short time. From my perspective, I believe that the benefits of learning foreign language definitely outweigh those of depending on using translation.

On the one hand, there are various advantages that taking part in studying second language brings to our society. Initially, one major benefit is that this can boost our different soft skills, not only studying language skill but also reading, writing or speaking skill. As a result, this equips us with the necessary skills, which can later be transferred into our personal lives, and result in career advancement. Additionally, when we learn second language, it means that we also study about the knowledge about culture, history of other country. Therefore, we will have more chances to accumulate knowledge about every aspects of live of foreign countries. On top of that, if we have passion, strive to study and get foreign language certificates including TOPIK, IELTS or JLPT, that will be really advantageous for our future, naming university entrance exam or employment opportunities as well.

On the other hand, there are also some reasons why it is better for us to use computer translation to translate every language. One of the prominent factors is due to the quickness and convenience of translation. To illustrate, computers can translate any word, sentence or paragraph of other language to another one in just a few seconds yet still precisely and this is also appropriate for someone who is not good at or lazy in learning another language.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my point of view that the merits of learning new language are outweighed the positive aspects of using computers translation. I honestly hope that each individual should choose their compatible way, depending on their circumstances.