Computers today can quickly and accurately translate languages, therefore, it is a waste of time to learn a foreign language.
To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It is argued that it is time-consuming to learn a new language due to the reason that
computers recently have been able to translate various languages extremely quick
and precisely. However, In my opinion, I totally disagree with this statement as
although these kinds of technologies and apps can slightly assist us in life, learning
a foreign language is really beneficial for boosting communication skills and
making your writing more stunning.
The first reason why learning a new language is not wasting of time is that it is
extremely effective and helpful for improving fluency of speaking. This is to say
that there are a number of intonations and rhythms which should be learned to
enhance speaking proficiencies and it could be possible to speak like a native
speaker. Moreover, although fluent speaking is a little bit difficult, numerous
techniques, such as shadowing technique, would simplify the way of speaking by
listening to a podcast and imitating the intonation of the native speaker. For
example, there are a number of fabulous videos, such as TED Talks, which are
really worth watching and useful for boosting English language because of its
simple language and conversational exchanges between a number of friends.
Another reason why I do agree with learning a foreign language is that it raises the
quality of your writing. This is because there are lots of collocations, idioms, high
level vocabularies and grammars which help you to transmit your emotion and
concept better at writing. Conversely, digital translators are not as operational as
human being language because they always use the simplest sentences and never
apply mentioned items. Furthermore, using linking words during writing would be
essential for making your writing more cohesive and literal. For instance, annually
a lot of students can pass the IELTS examination, which is an international
examination test system and extremely authentic among numerous universities,
with high score in writing skill because they have gained the ability of how to deal
with this language.
In conclusion, I consider that although technology has assisted us to do some
works easier, such as text translation, certainly it can not be alternative for the
ability and knowledge of human being as learning foreign language has a lot of
positive effects on speaking and writing skills.