The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time.

What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The population of the world is increasing tremendously. Some people even believe that currently, it is the most pressing issue for humanity. This essay will discuss the reasons for the ever-rising global population and argue why it is the number one concern at the moment.

The most prominent cause of the growing world population is the decline in the death rate. Due to the technological advancement in health care, many people recover from illnesses, which otherwise could be fatal. Malignancies and tumours, for example, a couple of decades ago, were considered untreatable; however, with modern medicine, almost all incurable diseases can be cured or at least have become manageable. Another major factor of growing population size is the fall in the infant mortality rate. Present-day women have better access to education and medical facilities, which have increased awareness about pregnancy and post-natal care. To exemplify, there was a considerable drop in miscarriages after pre-and post-pregnancy awareness campaigns in developing countries, like India and Nepal.

The main reason why economists and scientists have suddenly shown their interest in demography is that the rising world population will become the root cause of many worldly problems. The smaller picture of this evident in many underdeveloped nations as these regions have a larger population and are facing food scarcity, faster depletion of resources, and higher unemployment and crime rates. If the population continues to grow, then those days are not far when the entire world will face the same issues like that of underdeveloped countries. So, nowadays, it is of paramount concern for everyone around the world.

To conclude, although modern health care and educational facilities are the stepping stones for development, these also have dire consequences for the individual, the society and the government.