The modern mankind is facing up with a massive growth in the total global population. This current essay discusses some of the perceived causes of the rises, as well as debate to whether the overgrowth in population should be considered as a serious problem, when compared to other threats of our existence.

To begin with, there are several factors that lead to overpopulation issue and one of them is the unstable status of birth plan. To be more specific, this happens mostly in Asia countries, in which having a male offspring is always a first prioritize. In fact, an Asian man is allowed to marriage more than one wife, in order to achieve the main goal. Despite numerous countries, especially China, have passed out the “one child law”, this problem has not been clearly solved yet, in recent years.

Another measure for teeming population is technological outbreak. Since the Industrial Revolution, manufacturing business has been shifted from handmade crafting to auto-machines. Hence, mass production is available and it plays a key role in increasing human’s life expectancy by nonstop providing foods and medical treatments.

However, a rapid rise in population is not really one of the biggest threats to humility, when compared to climate change, due to its effects. While overpopulation impacts on social system, climate change even damages to other aspect – ecosystems. From an environmental perspective, climate change creates more extreme weather conditions, thus hampering the agricultural industry. In addition, it leads to the rise of sea level, which forces people to migrate.

In short, the recent growth of world population happens due to several factors mentioned above. Nevertheless, despite the negative effects it brings, what should be addressed first and foremost is climate change.