The coronavirus pandemic has pushed many shoppers in Vietnam to make their purchases online as many stores are either closed due to lockdown measures or have limited capacities to maintain social distancing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of online shopping during this pandemic period?

In the perspective of the Covid-19 pandemic, many areas have to be lockdown which leads to many changes in society. People's shopping method is among the most obvious changes as they have to buy things online instead of at shops. This essay will discuss two aspects of online shopping.

On the one hand, shopping online has some advantages. First of all, it helps maintain social distance. People can easily order a thing from the e-commerce platforms such as Shopee, Tiki, and then, the products will be shipped directly to the registered address. As a result, we can minimize close contact with others. Secondly, we can do our shopping in privacy. The sellers have to pack our items carefully inbox or at least in plastic bags so that the others cannot know what we buy.

On the other hand, the online shopping brings certain drawbacks. To begin with, it has some negative effects on the environment. As a general rule, our orders are packed in several layers of shockproof wraps and inside the oversized cardboard boxes. While the shockproof wrap is difficult to decompose, the production of cardboard boxes needs to cut down many trees that may cause deforestation. Another problem with this shopping method is that people waste time on it. We spend a lot of time scrolling, adding items into the cart. We also use the smartphone or laptop all around the clock to collect the vouchers not only at the sale events but almost every day.

To conclude, shopping online has both pros and cons. If we can balance its both side, it will be a good alternative mean of shopping.