The cost of flying has decreased significantly over the last decade This has made overseas travel much more accessible Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Travelling overseas has become comparatively affordable nowadays. Although this allows people to explore various tourist places and visit countries for job hunting, this can lead to increase in the crime rates and spread of communicable diseases. This essay will discuss in details of the benefits and drawbacks related to overseas travel accessibility to people due to low-cost flying.

The greatest advantage of cheaper flights is that it allows people to go for sight-seeing outside their native countries. People from any financial background can not only explore these beautiful places, but can also make travelling a source of income through travel content creation. For example, Drew Brinsky, although hails from a poor family, became rich by creating YouTube videos. Apart from this, budget airlines have opened doors for job-seekers. Unlike the earlier days, where getting recruited for job abroad was almost impossible, this cost-cutting in airline tickets have paved way for people to fly overseas and stay there for a short term until they get a job placement.

However, the decrease in the cost of flying has its drawbacks. The main challenge of this increased accessibility of travelling is that, there is high-risk of increase in the crime rate. Although the normal security will be carried out in the airports, budget airlines security measures are compromised many times, due to which people finds multiple ways to smuggle illegal products through airport. The Deccan article had recently published a write-up stating evidence on the safety issues of low-cost flights. Another issue is that the number of travelers have increased enormously due to the affordable travel charges, which in turn can be a source of spreading infectious diseases. The recent corona virus pandemic is the best example for this, as it was proven to be an outbreak from crowded budget airline travelers.

In conclusion, travelling overseas is much easier now as the flight charges have come down drastically. Even though this increases the tourism and provide job opportunities to people across the globe, this can lead to increase in illegal acts and cause infectious disease outbreak.