It is important for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree to this opinion? What sort of punishment should be given?

Parents adopt various punishment methods to teach their children discipline. Many people believe that using these methods is imperative so that children understand the difference between right and wrong at an early age. I completely agree with this opinion, and this essay will provide evidence on why I support the notion that using appropriate disciplinary measures is an effective method to mold a child's behavior, as well as will discuss the type of punishments that could be used for the same.

The most effective way to teach a child discipline is by punishing them at a younger age. This is the best way because it will make a child think twice before they get involved in any inappropriate activity. It is especially beneficial when punishment is given at a younger age as a child's growth and development at this age depicts their personality in the future. For example, if a child if found stealing little things such as pen, money, and so on, then the parents should use punishments such as pinching their skin or refrain them from playing their favorite game for a while so that they will remember the consequence of their actions and will not dare to repeat it.

Moreover, many methods could be used to teach a child the ability to distinguish between right and wrong. One of such measures is using physical punishments. Although it could be hard on children, using measures such as restraining for a short time, pinching, smacking, and so on will prevent them from repeating any mischievous acts as they grow up. Apart from this, parents could use measures that can have a positive psychological impact on a child. For example, using measures such as detention or taking away something precious to them will teach them right from wrong.

In conclusion, I reiterate that using effective punishment methods will teach a child ability to distinguish right from wrong. This essay discussed the reason for the same and explained in detail various physical and psychological punishment methods that could be used to teach a child discipline.