The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Online shopping have become increasingly popular nowadays. Many people argue that this trend will result in permanent closure of all shops in cities and towns. I totally agree with this statement, and this essay will discuss in detail why I believe there is a probability that the physical outlets will extinct one day.

The number of online consumers have increased consistently. This stable increase has been resulting in proportional decrease in the number of physical outlets as people find it more convenient to purchase products through the e-commerce. For example, digital apps like Amazon are so advanced that it has all major product brands across the world; which in turn gives its users millions of options to choose with just one click, unlike going to a physical store. Hence, as the number of online shoppers booms, the number of physical outlets will decrease. Apart from this, online shopping is much safer than going to a shop due to the risk of acquiring infectious disease. People have developed phobia towards going to the crowded areas or touching products displayed in the public as the outcome of the recent Corona virus outbreak across the world. Thus, people will prefer online shopping modes instead of going to the shops as they are aware of the detrimental effects that such infectious disease outbreaks can cause.

Conversely, there are people who disagree that the retail shops will be completely replaced by e-commerce. This is because there are products which people prefer to touch, feel and even try-out before purchasing. For example, while purchasing a perfume, a consumer would like to smell its scent in order to decide whether it suits their choice or not. Hence, although the number of online buyers will increase in the future, a few essential shops will remain open to the public.

In conclusion, many people opine that the increase in the trend of online shopping will lead to the disappearance of shops from the cities and the towns one day. I completely agree with this statement, not only because people find electronic shopping convenient, but also because people are aware that these physical stores are a major source of infectious disease outbreak.