It is true that nowadays, the more countries develop, the more their citizens follow the trend of living individually or in nuclear families. There are many reasons for this trend, and I believe it has both positive and negative effects on society.

To begin with, it seems that young people tend to live away from their families because of the generation gap. Generation gaps in families often leads to different lifestyles, and to prevent conflicts to occur, young people choose to leave their home. For example, a youngster wants to relax by playing his upbeat music out loud, but his parents disapprove it and prefer country music to be played. Additionally, the population now is likely to live in nuclear families rather than extended families, mainly because in small family units, parents will have more time to spend on their children. A child in a nuclear family, for instance, may have a far better relationship with his parents, as they have more time for each other, than a child in an extended family.

In terms of living alone, young people have benefited. They can do everything freely depending on their lifestyles without being judged by their parents. They can come back home late, stay up at night, play anything they like… and so on. On the other hand, people may feel desperate as they have no one to ask for advice and help as when they still lived with their families. This goes the same with nuclear families. Parents can spend more time with children, but the older generations may have far more experiences than a newly couple. Parents know what to do, while grandparents know how to do.

In conclusion, there are many reasons for people to live individually or in nuclear families, and this trend has both benefits and drawbacks.