As countries have developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes. What do you think are the causes of this trend? How does this affect society?

Many countries all across the globe are becoming richer as they develop and at the same time these countries are apparently seeing a reduction in the size of families. This circumstance clearly links to the development of countries and the changing perspective of people to have a small nuclear family rather than an extended family.

One of the causes for smaller family units is the fact that the modern world provides women with more options in lifestyle. It is acknowledged that women have great role in societies. Having more opportunities for education and job they have less time for their family and thus, for growing up many children. Another contribution to this trend is due to increasing living cost and the cost of life necessities!!. If family size were still large as before, there would be lots of expenses like construction of a big house or childcare, which would bring a family into miserable poor life. Therefore, small size of family has highly beneficial impacts on quality of life.

This growing trend has an impact on societies in numerous ways. One of the positive effects is that the number of population will decline, which is great contribution to less poverty as there will be less competition for scarce resources. It gives opportunity to parents to provide a better education to their children. This is because, it will cost less, which will be beneficial for societies as a whole. When it comes to negative impact of this trend, the number of workforce will be fewer, thus, sustainability of future economic growth will be under threat.

To sum up, family size has fallen due to life condition, living cost and working of women and this can have negative and positive impacts on society. Despite any effects, as countries develop, this trend will likely continue to increase in near future.