As countries have developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes Why does this happen How does this affect society

Nowadays, people, especially the young generation show a tendency of reducing the number of members in one family. This is because this helps them to concentrate on pursuing their own future careers and reducing the financial burden. This essay will first give some plausible explanations and then discuss several impacts of this situation on the society.

First of all, there is no room for doubt that the youth are making a great effort to chase for a better career, explaining the reason why they generally tend to live with fewer family members. The young generation, especially females, are taking advantage of their in-depth knowledge to search for a well-paid job which helps them to earn a great deal of money for their future plans. Moreover, it is widely assumed that this phenomenon also plays an important role in reducing their personal budget on housing. For example, if they live with one or two members in a family, this can hugely reduce the total amount of money for electricity, water, or the Internet compared to a larger size which consumed much more financial resources.

This tendency towards smaller sizes in families also exerts a beneficial impact on the environment. It is reported from the World Health Organization that a person can dispose of roughly 4.18 pounds of waste per day, which is over 1000 pounds of garbage annually. Therefore, living in a smaller family benefits greatly to the dramatic reduction in the amount of waste emitted each year. Furthermore, there is an argument on its positive effect on the reduction of criminal rate, due to the fact that many poor families with many members have a higher chance to commit offenses to support their living. For instance, Vietnam witnessed 80% of crimes committed by teenagers from larger-size families who are on the poverty line in 2018.

In conclusion, people are holding the intention of living in a small-size family, due to personal reasons such as chasing their careers or reducing financial budget. Additionally, this phenomenon makes great contributions to society by decreasing the number of pollutants yearly and limiting the criminal rate.