A country which has free healthcare has a healthier population. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recenr years, healthcare has become one of the pressing problems all around the world. Facing the issue, some countries have started provide people with free healthcare service. Therefore, it is believed that countries with free healthcare have healthier population. From my perspectives, I largely agree with the statement although with some reservations.

First of all, countries with free healthcare help improve the health of the population. For instance, some things such as computers, cars or holidays are luxuries which people should pay for themselves, but healthcare is a necessity not a luxury. If people do not have access to free healthcare, minor health problems may become much worse. Also, the cost of healthcare should not stop people from going to the doctor. If poor people have to pay for healthcare, they might not visit the doctor when they are ill. If healthcare becomes more expensive, there maybe some negative effects in the future. For example, if only rich people can afford healthcare, they may be much healthier and may live longer than poor people. The result of this could be an unequal and divided society.

However, free healthcare does not always result in a healthy population. In occurrence, if people choose to have an unhealthy lifestyle, free healthcare might not help them. Some people believe that if humans have unhealthy lifestyles, they should not receive free healthcare. In addition, healthcare comes in many forms and some of these forms of healthcare may not be essential. Most doctors think that if people want costemic surgery just to improve their appearance, they should pay for it themselves. Nevertheless, doctors think that government should pay for some forms of cosmetic surgery.

In conclusion, I am in judgement that free healthcare service does not decide wether a country has a healthier population due to some individuals have unhealthy lifestyles. People should pay for it and learn to raise awareness about unhealthy way of life.