It is common that people have difficulty in achieving a work-life balance. There are several causes of this widespread trend, but measures could certainly be taken to tackle the problem.

There are two main reasons why many people have trouble balancing work with other parts of their lives. Firstly, they are probably working longer hours than before due to the changes in work patterns. With the development of electronic devices, it is possible for people to work at home. They may have to deal with tasks at home hours if their leaders ask them about their work beyond regular working time. As a result, there is less time left for them to enjoy other parts of their lives. Secondly, there is fierce competition in almost all works of life as a consequence of the increase in population. Employees have to pay more attention to improving job performance in order to get promotion. This intensive competition takes up a lot of time and effort, leaving people with low energy for other parts of their lives.

There are several actions that governments could take to solve the problems described above. Firstly, a direct solution would be to impose laws about limiting working time to guarantee sufficient time for working people to rest. They can work more effectively in regular working hours after enough recreation in their spare time. A second measure would be for governments to encourage enterprises to create more jobs to relieve the employment pressure. In this way, it would be easier for employees to improve job security so they can save much more energy for their personal lives.

In conclusion, it is clear there are various reasons for people’s failure to strike a balance between work and life, and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.