Currently, there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective and at the worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In this modern era, it is important that using alternative forms of medicine can be ineffective or may be hazardous. In this essay, I completely agree if there are more negative impact than positive impact in using alternative medicine.

At present, alternative medicine is a pathway to remedies various disease and this become popular for several people. Firstly, it can be a choice to relieve illness for some people who have phobia in modern treatment, such as phobia to syringe, surgery, chemotherapy, and so on. It is because some advanced technology which is used in medical field recently, can cause long-drawn pain. Secondly, price of holistic medicine which is cheaper than modern treatment with high technology and the price of the medicine is expensive. It is because in invention new method or drug is needed long time, many experiments, and high technology which is not cheap. Furthermore, existence of conventional treatment is one of ways in conserving culture which is inherited from earlier ancestor. Because older generation always teach how to cure other people who get sick with alternative treatment to the next generation. So, the culture in medical is not extinct for long-term.

In the contrary, conventional treatment have some drawbacks which can harm people, especially to children. To begin, some alternative medicines which are not researched before, do not fit and give bad responses to the body of the patient or the worst possibility is the death of the patient. Because there is only few alternative medicine which has been verified its safety, contents, side effects, and other in the laboratory. It can influence level of confidence of the patient in deciding method to treat their disease. In addition, a patient can get worse side effects from herbs, such as allergic. It is because the ingredients of the herbal medicine have not been known the proper compounds which are contained in it. Also, the alternative treatment can be more dangerous for certain patient. It is because the patient does not do medical check up, röntgen, and other tests or checking by instrument and it is only base on guessing by therapist.

To sum up, I agree that alternative treatment have more bad effects than good effects. Everybody have difference immune system, so they have to choose the best method of treatment for curing themselves.