Cycling is a healthier and environmentally-friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons for this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Regardless of the physical and environmental benefits of bike riding, it is becoming less attractive. This essay will pen down the root cause and propose some feasible measures to radically address this phenomenon.

With regards to the running reasons why people gradually lose their affinity for pedaling, the need for a more convenient and efficient mode of travel is perhaps the decisive factor. This is derived from the fact that commuting by bicycle is physically demanding and time-consuming; while individuals now often lead a sedentary lifestyle. Therefore, motor vehicles tend to be a more favourable option. Besides, bikers are at a higher risk of engaging in accidents than motorized means of transportation. For example, a recent survey conducted by the Ministry of Transportation in Vietnam indicated that when an accident occurs, a bike rider is prone to more serious injuries or even fatalities than one travelling in a car or on a motorbike with the proportion of approximately 35% and 13% respectively.

Simultaneously, several pragmatic methods can be applied in order to tackle this problem. Initially, the government should impose higher taxes on cars and motorcycles and replace lenient laws with stricter regulations on the consumption of fossil fuels. By adopting these policies, the utility of non-environmentally friendly modes of transport will be discouraged and many people will be urged to opt for bikes in close proximity. Besides, for the world at large, citizens should be educated to be aware of the perks of cycling and their responsibilities for protecting the environment. For example, in Vietnam, the environmental campaign called ‘Green Cyclists’ is held annually to promote environmental consciousness and encourage citizens to cycle.

In conclusion, the concern of convenience and safety suggests why bicycles are becoming less common in today’s world, and policy and educational solutions should be put into practice early to promote this environmentally friendly means of transport.