Cycling is healthier and environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons for this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Regardless of the physical and environmental benefits of bike riding, it is becoming less attractive. This essay will point out the reasons and suggest some solutions for this phenomenon.

With regards to reasons, one of the most indispensable explanations why people gradually lose their affinity for pedaling is the need for a more convenient and efficient mode of travel. This is derived from the fact that commuting by bicycle is physically demanding and time-consuming; while individuals now often lead a sedentary lifestyle. Therefore, motor vehicles tend to be a more favorable option. Besides, bikers are at a higher risk of engaging in accidents than motorized means of transportation. For example, a recent survey conducted by the National University of Vietnam showed that when an accident occurs, a bike rider is prone to more serious injuries or even fatalities than one traveling in a car or on a motorbike with the proportion of approximately 35% and 13% respectively.

Simultaneously, several pragmatic methods can be applied in order to tackle this problem. Initially, the government should impose higher taxes on cars and motorcycles and replace lenient laws with stricter regulations on the consumption of fossil fuels. By adopting these policies, the utility of non-environmentally friendly modes of transport will be discouraged and many people will be urged to opt for bikes in close proximity. Besides, citizens should be educated to be aware of the advantages of cycling and their responsibilities for protecting the environment. For example, in Vietnam, the environmental campaign called ‘Green Cyclists’ is held annually to promote environmental consciousness and encourage citizens to cycle.

In conclusion, the concern of convenience and safety suggests why bicycles are becoming less common in today’s world, and policy and educational solutions should be put into practice early to promote this environmentally friendly means of transport.