Human activities have negative effects on plants and animals species. Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem. Others believe that effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Human interference has adverse impacts on flora and fauna. It is appreciated that nothing can be done anymore to ameliorate this phenomenon while others believe that actions can contribute to the betterment of this situation. Both these schools of thought hold valid arguments. This essay will take both sides into consideration and give my verdict.

On the one hand, some damage caused by humans to animals and plants is irreversible. Initially, overexploitation has been posing several threats to plants, even contributing to their extinction. For example, wild American ginsengs, which were put on the endangered list because of overharvesting for the herbal trade, have been completely wiped out since the 20th century. Besides, some polar animals such as bearded seals and walruses run a higher risk of losing their habitats due to global warming, which is caused by burning fossil fuels and cutting forests. The only way to repair these consequences is turning back the hand of time, which only exists in fairy tales.

On the other hand, there are some feasible solutions to protect biodiversity. One of them is for the legislators to replace lenient environmental laws with stricter ones. This can serve as a deterrent to environmental pollution, thus protecting the habitat of flora and fauna. Moreover, poaching, hunting, and harvesting wild species should be banned and people should stop consuming products from imperiled species such as elephants’ tusks so that jeopardized species would not be put in such threat of extinction. I truly believe that by taking these measures, endangered animals and plant species can be saved.

In conclusion, although some damage to nature is irreversible, I hold a strong belief that actions can be done to curb several problems.