It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Many argue that primary children should be taught vegetable growing and animal husbandry for their comprehensive development. While this trend has both positive and negative sides, personally, I believe it does more good than harm.

To begin with, Learning to cultivate plants and feed animals has two main drawbacks in terms of its availability and practicality. Firstly, primary children nowadays hardly have an optimal condition to develop those soft skills due to the lack of agricultural land or farms.Take the town children, for example; they usually need to travel long distances to far-flung countrysides or out-of-town farmland to practice those techniques. Secondly, planting and raising species may be redundant since many parents believe their children should be better equipped with specialized knowledge for the sake of their career path. This perception mainly derives from the modernized world and the proliferation of technological-driven jobs, which make those agricultural skills become obsolete.

However, I concur that the aforementioned disadvantages are eclipsed by tangible benefits that those fundamental skills offer. To start with, planting and feeding facilitate children to accumulate hands-on experiences conducive to their survival. To be specific, given the currently increasing unemployment rate in cities, children can opt for manual jobs in rural areas with those practical skills. Furthermore, plants growth and animal husbandry can gradually instill a sense of love for flora and fauna in primary children. As a result, they would be more encouraged to bear environmental protection and nature preservation responsibility.

In conclusion, while acknowledging certain obstacles of plants growth and animal husbandry programs, I believe that the advantages of those training should be given priority, thus, be motivated among primary children for their better-prepared life and environmental consciousness.