Some people think that technology is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think the opposite. Discuss both views and give your own opinion."

Whether technology is widening the gap between wealthy people and the impoverished remains a contentious topic. Both these schools of thought hold valid arguments. This essay will take both sides into consideration and give my verdict.

On the one hand, I do think that some state-of-the-art facilities are often exorbitant and unaffordable for people living below the poverty line. For example, the average monthly income per person in Vietnam in 2020 is approximately 351 dollars, compared to the average price of a low quality refrigerator there which is around 191 dollars. Consequently, a small quantity of the impoverished do not possess a proper financial ability to buy it. By contrast, the rich can easily purchase up-to-date technology for having lucrative income. This would partly worsen the gap between wealthy people and the impoverished as rich people could utilize modern technology to accomplish their work easily while a number of poor ones who, for instance, do not know computer skills, retain being in the blue collar with low wages.

On the other hand, despite the fact that some technological devices are often unaffordable for the poor, I hold a strong belief that both the privileged and the underprivileged can take advantage of technological developments. Initially, by purchasing and utilizing electronic devices, almost every individual would curb the amount of time spent on household chores. For example, with the aid of a washing machine, washing clothes in general is almost no longer a manual work, thus it is time-saving, more efficient, and humans can channel their time into other indispensable things. Besides, technology is not only a means for the rich to make money but it can also provide them with the capability to offer jobs for poor people. Take some of the billionaires, namely Mark Zuckerberg, who is the founder of Facebook - a popular social website, as an illustration. His website has created countless online jobs, such as selling clothes or marketing, which contributes to cutting poverty.

In conclusion, although the high prices of some technological devices can act as a deterrent to lessening the gap between the rich and the poor, I concur that technology is decreasing this gap as both the privileged and the underprivileged can take advantage of technological developments.