As country develops, a large population chooses to live individually or live in a small family unit. Discuss the causes and its effects on society.

Along with the development of a nation, many citizens opt for residing individually or in small groups. This essay will indicate some explanations for this phenomenon with its impact on the community.

From my perspective, the roots of this development can be attributed to two principal reasons. Initially, a large population chooses to live individually or live in a small family unit to cut down on the costs of living. For instance, there was only one breadwinner in charge of earning money in an extended family in the past, which often resulted in an overwhelming financial burden. Individuals who live on their own or in a small family unit can more easily satisfy their own and others’ demands with their wages in the present day. Avoiding conflicts between family members is another main explanation. As the size of a family and the number of people in the family minimalise, so do the potential arguments and rivalries between members of the family.

This trend has both positive and negative impacts on the community. In terms of merit, it might be a driving force behind national economic development. This is derived from the fact that the amount of money made by an individual now may be used to support fewer people compared to the past, leading to higher GDP, which is an indispensable criterion to evaluate the development of an economy. By contrast, on account of living apart from families and relatives, this trend can act as a deterrent to the sustainability of the family bond. Some people, especially youngsters, would not be embraced in the love of their families; therefore, they might suffer from loneliness or mental disorders, even committing suicide

In conclusion, decreasing the living costs and staying away from family arguments suggests why a considerable amount of citizens opt for residing individually or in small groups, and this phenomenon has both constructive and adverse effects on society.