In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

As large shops in the suburbs are gaining more and more popularity, small stores in the heart of towns are losing their attractiveness. Consequently, customers without cars have difficulty travelling to out-of-town stores, which might lead to an upward trend in the utility of cars. From my perspective, although this phenomenon brings both merits and demerits, it does more good than harm.

My verdict is that going out to the suburbs to do shopping comes with several undeniable advantages in terms of shopping experience and time-saving. Regarding customers’ experience, large stores bring more sense of satisfaction and pleasure. This is derived from the fact that substantial shopping malls in the periphery of towns often cover integrated facilities. Consequently, demands of different ages can be easily met. For example, while parents are shopping, their offspring can relish time in the kid zone. Besides, various one-stop-shops are also time-saving as shopping and doing others such as eating and watching movies can be done simultaneously. On the contrary, shops in town which dominate small areas do not have enough space for other amenities besides stores, thus they are less attractive than huge out-of-town stores.

Another perk is that the out-of-town shops create positive competition with local counterparts, driving overall economic growth. This results from the fact that large malls in the suburbs often offer better job opportunities for professional employees with expertise and experience, thus more probability of attaining lucrative income and career development. On the other hand, the proliferation of huge stores in the periphery seems to take away customers of small shops, however, competition is a part of development. To be more precise, the growth of big out-of-town shops motivates local shops to channel their efforts into becoming more innovative, and competitive to draw customers’ attention. Therefore, customers and the economy can take advantage of this change.

In conclusion, although the proliferation of large out-of-town stores may have adverse effects on small shops in town, I concur that significant benefits outweigh this negligible drawback.