Some teachers think that international student exchange would be beneficial for all teenage school children. Do you think its advantages will outweigh the disadvantages?

Some instructors assume that cross-cultural student exchange would bring benefits to all participants; however, whether this is beneficial or harmful remains a contentious topic of discussion. This essay will examine both the benefits and drawbacks of this trend before giving my verdict as a conclusion.

On the one hand, students may have to confront numerous obstacles when studying abroad. Initially, an international exchange program is likely to be more expensive than a domestic course. To be more precise, students in developing nations often have to do part-time jobs to cover the expenses when following education programs in first-world countries as a method to share the financial burden on their families. This, however, can act as a deterrent to concentrate on their studying, and in worse cases, their academic results may take a toll. Besides, the first time residing in a distinctive environment will harm students mentally and physically. Therefore, it can lead to health issues and cultural shock. For example, Asian students find it hard to be familiar with codes of behavior in Europe and vice versa.

On the other hand, it is tangible that significant benefits outweigh the aforementioned disadvantages. One of the most prominent merits is that international students stand higher chances to land a job that provides lucrative income than a domestic one. This is derived from the fact that engaging in cross-border exchanging programs will provide students with valuable practical experience and competitive profiles. Moreover, an undeniable positive point is profound cultural understanding. As pupils have the chance to relish cultural diversity, they attain a deeper understanding of cultural aspects and widen their knowledge, even make more overseas friends.

In conclusion, exchanging international students brings both disadvantages and advantages; however, the benefits in terms of jobs opportunities and cultural enrichment surpass the drawbacks.