Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is assumed that folks should organize spare time activities for children; meanwhile, others believe that selection should be given to children. Both these schools of thought hold valid arguments. From my perspective, I truly agree with the second viewpoint. This essay will take both sides into consideration and make my personal assumption.

On the one hand, it is tangible that planned activities will benefit children in numerous factors. Initially, parents know their children’s personality and ability, so they can organize activities that are suitable to cultivate their children’s flair and assist them to accumulate knowledge and experience. For example, organized team sports such as basketball or football can give children aspirations to attain their goals as they are highly competitive sports. Besides, parents can be the supervisor when playing so it will be less dangerous than letting children play alone.

On the other hand, self-development is indispensable for children so it will be better if they can engage in activities on their own. This is derived from the fact that choosing activities to do in leisure time provides children with the opportunity to discover their inner soul in order to gain a deeper understanding of themselves. As a result, they can figure out their talents and interests, which makes the act of shaping their future become easier. Besides, doing things on their own means they have to take responsibility and challenge themselves so they will be physically and mentally stronger. This will serve as a deterrent to their giving up when confronting obstacles.

In conclusion, although parental guidelines are imperative, children should be given the opportunity to spend their free time in their own ways because of the numerous benefits I have listed.