Cycling is a healthier and more environmentally friendly form of transport. Nevertheless, cycling is getting less popular. What are the reasons of this trend? What can be done to make cycling more popular?

Today, moving is a necessary need for everyone. However, very few individuals travel by bicycle although this form of transport is beneficial for people's health and does not damage the environment. This essay will outline some reasons why cycling receives little attention of residents and a quantity of method to encourage citizen to cycle.

To begin with, one main explanation for inhabitants losing interest in cycling is due to the demand for a more efficient type of transport. Detail, In a hustle and bustle society today, humans always want to save their time in errands like travelling. Therefore, people do not want to spend too much time and effort while commuting and this also explains why motor vehicles tend to be a more suitable and preferred choice. Another inconvenience of cycling is that it depends heavily on the weather, thereby deterring human's activity. For example, bicyclists will face a lot of difficulties when they go to work or school on abundant rainy days.

The authorities can attempt to promote the use of bicycles through an amount of measures. First of all, city councils can build more cycling lanes throughout towns and cities and that not only will be safer and more convenient to travel but also can reduce a number of wasted time by avoiding traffic-clogged areas. For example, in Amsterdam, there is more space for cycling than for cars, which leads to a large proportion of Dutch's population who lives there using bicycles as their main form of transport. Furthermore, governments can levy higher taxes on other kinds of vehicles which can harm the habitat, together with raising social awareness of environmental protection, may help increase the likelihood of people turning to cycle.

In conclusion, most people tend to use motor vehicles instead of bicycles owing to the demand for efficient moving and the lack of environmental consciousness. Governments can raise a number of bicyclists by constructing more cycling zones and applying greater taxes for other forms of transport.