Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road might cause some problems. What are the problems? What could be done to solve those problems?

Nowadays, it is common to see cars and bicycles travel on the same road. This may result in a number of undesirable consequences which could be addressed by several approaches explained below.

The fact that car drivers and bikers share the same roadway while travelling may lead to two main problems. First, the possibility of an accident between a car and a bicycle is much higher than when they have their own road, and in case of accidents, the mortality rate could also be greater. Because automobiles are large and able to run very fast, they may kill people when colliding with bikes, which is far more serious than accidents on the street for only bikes. Second, people driving cars would also be faced with inconveniences when they share the same road with bicyclists. For instance, instead of running as fast as possible to an appointment that they are about to be late, car drivers may have to slow down and wait for some commuter ahead riding a bike at their average speed.

In order to deal with such problems, there are two solutions that should be taken into consideration. First of all, on roadways that allow both cars and bicycles to travel at the same time, the authorities should strictly limit the maximum speed as low as 50 kph. While running at such a low speed, drivers can better control their vehicle as well as dodge others, and in the event of collision, the damage would also be less serious. Second of all, it is necessary for the government to build separate lanes for these two vehicles so that their different speeds will not bother each other as in aforementioned situations. For example, on most streets in Singapore, automobiles and bikes could travel simultaneously but there are lanes designated for both of them, so they are able to run at their speed of choice without affecting one another.

In conclusion, when cyclists and automobile drivers share the same road, a couple of issues may arise. Fortunately, two possible methods have been proposed to solve these issues.