Some people think that outdoor activities are more beneficial for children's development than playing computer games. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the current technological onslaught comes a technological issue in children education: computer games. Some people argue that the role of computer games for children is still too vague and thus, should not be given precedence over outdoor activities. Nevertheless, from my standpoint, while children certainly benefit from physical activities, digital gaming also proves its worth in several aspects.

The merits of outdoor activities can be seen easily first in terms of children’s health. As today children often spend most of their daytime at school, the open-air settings of outdoor activities will act as an effective antidote to their schoolwork pressure. With further physical outdoor activities from simple sports like jogging, running to more complex ones like hiking, camping, children are able to augment both their physical and mental health, uplifting their overall mood and learning productivity. Another conspicuous benefit lies in the networking expansion. When participating in outdoor activities, children will have opportunities to meet with other people of different backgrounds. Therefore, children’s face-to-face communication skills can witness significant improvements, which assists them to form a more intimate network of friends.

With that being said, it is rather short-sighted to completely downplay computer games. In certain ways, computer games can promote students’ creativity and logical thinking. Currently, many state-of-the-art games have such sophisticated gameplay that players must utilize their brainpower and ingenuity to conquer these games. For instance, some computer games often negatively associated with unenviable reputation among parents such as League of Legends or Battlegrounds require children to develop innovative yet efficacious team strategies to gain the ultimate victory. Furthermore, computer games can enable children to create virtual networking. Today computer games have achieved huge popularity to actually become a networking platform in which children can make friends with different people from numerous backgrounds but sharing the same interest: computer game. Hence, besides direct face-to-face network, thanks to computer games, children can also have circles of online friends and broaden their web of relationships.

In conclusion, both outdoor activities and computer games play a certain part in children’s development. The primary issue now shifts to striking the right balance between these two activities for children with a view to making the most use out of them.