The damage to the environment is increasing at an alarming rate due to human activities. What are some of the ways in which humans are damaging to the environment?

In this day and age, the environment is being absurdly afflicted by human activities at an increasingly rapid pace. This essay aims to examine some detriments of this phenomenon.

The overexploitation of natural resources to meet the burgeoning demand of society has put a heavy toll on the environment. Deforestation, for example, has constituted the depletion of natural habitats of wild animals, and therefore, pushed them to the verge of extinction. Moreover, by cutting down trees, farmers and manufacturers are exerting impacts on the eco-system, and, consequently, inflicting imbalances in food chains due to the demises of certain species owing to human activities.

Another thorny side of the modern world that leads to environmental degradation is the dearth of consciousness when it comes to dealing with discharged substances. For instance, a staggering number of vehicles engaging in bumper-to-bumper traffic, are exhausting escalating doses of fumes, which, in turn, hover over and around metropolises and cause the greenhouse effect. Another example of this case is the release of toxic wastes from factories. Undoubtedly, those chemical substances are deleterious for the life cycle of animals inhabiting rivers, as well as for marine life. However, there are pollutants that are caused by chance rather than humans' faults, such as oil spills stemming from the collisions between large-sized ships and icebergs.

To recapitulate, human activities have exerted detrimental effects on the environment in many formats, a propaganda campaign to raise environment-consciousness is necessary.