Nowadays, more and more older people who need employment compete with the younger people for the same jobs. Give some problems this situation causes.

In a world of increasing competition, the fresh graduates have to grample against a burgeoning number of senior candidates for the same positions. This phenomenon has, indeed, exerted impacts on the society and this essay will examine those effects.

First and foremost, the soaring confrontation between the youths and the elderly makes many from both sides become susceptible to unemployment.

With the perks of being more energetic and agile, the young applicants are highly-sought after by contemporary enterprises as they are in desperate need of employees who can adapt themselves to lasting working hours and business trips to places with hostile climatic conditions. As for the old candidates, they are formidable with overwhelming hands-on experience and a wide scope of knowledge, which are without a doubt benefecial for corporations as the experienced ones can introduce incrementally innovative ideas for the betterment of their workplace. Therefore, chronic confrontation for certain jobs lead to escalating unemployment since either component of the labour force has its own strength, and the dismerits of one side are the merits of another and vice versa.

Another detriment stemming from this happening is the imbalance in the labour market. When the young and old candidates keep applying for specific positions, namely jobs in business settings, the labour market demonstrates a major leaning towards those desirable occupations, and thus leaves the rest unoccupied. Consequently, some jobs are attatched great importance and drive a great many of applicants regardless of age; while thousands of undesirable jobs are at a low ebb because of the dearth of labourers.

To recapitulate, the rising tension in the labour market owing to the young and old applicants culminates in a surge in unemployment and thriving imbalance in the occupation market.