Deforestation is clearing Earth's forests on a massive scale. What are the reasons and what can be done to solve this problem?

To begin with, the weighty issue of deforestation results from both societal and economic factors. Initially, there is a likelihood that overpopulation is the root cause of this matter. The increasing world population, indeed, leads to the spread of human habitation, accompanied by the increasing demand for land areas for humans to inhabit and produce sufficient food; therefore, forests tend to be cut down to make way for agricultural plantations and settlements. Additionally, deforestation also stems from various elements related to economy, industrialization to illustrate. There is a rising number of companies nowadays majoring in paper production, which requires a considerable quantity of raw materials coming from forests, wood for instance. This leads to a wide range of trees cut down aiming for commercial purposes without planting new ones or a major reason for deforestation.

For such reasons, several solutions can be drastically carried out by the authorities and dwellers to resolve this negative issue. Firstly, there is a need for the government to impose stricter laws and regulations to limit and control the excessive deforestation, from heavy penalties to being in prison for example. Thus, this will probably make a contribution to enforce and raise their awareness of inhabitants in preserving our forests by planting more trees. Furthermore, individual members of the society should take action and play their role. By way of illustration, with the flourish of technology, the general public should get used to altering the way they use to write or take notes, from paper to several technological devices such as smart phones and laptops, which may reduce the demand for using items made by wood.