Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

In recent times, the humanity is increasingly facing up with the urgent need for food supplies. While this phenomenon is commenced from a wide range of justifications, the collaboratives endeavor should be taken by countries around the globe to mitigate this problem.

On the first hand, the pressing shortage of food sources is ascribed to a myriad of explanations, chief of which is the humanitarian disasters in certain corners of the world. As a matter of fact, in times of epidemics or wars, the supply chains might be broken, thereby interrupting the imports of food between countries. Consequently, citizens in nations without self-sufficiency in agricultural products tend to purchase food supply in large quantities for fear of the perpetuation of wars and diseases. Take the outbreak of Covid-19 epidemic for example. Most people are afraid of potential lack of milk, corn, and staples, so there was then a mentality popular among Vietnamese people that if they had not collected sufficient food supply, they would have been at risk of starvation. In other words, a sense of insecurity leads millions to the decision of hoarding large amount of food, hence a rocketing demand for food in a national scale.

On the other hand, there are some solutions could be adopted to mitigate the aforementioned issue, one of which is for the state to put more investment in the development of agricultural sector. In particular, there should be a shift from traditional agriculture to the production of GM food. GM food, as well as genetically-modified food, is the food from crops whose genes are scientifically changed so that it can produce more fruits and not be affected by diseases. Therefore, this kind of agricultural production is capable of guaranteeing a considerably higher yield and meet the food demand of population. To exemplify, some African countries used to suffer from famine in the past; however, thanks to the introduction of GM food, it saved them from the trouble of having to import huge amounts of food from abroad. Long story short, once a country has been self-sufficient in food product, its population would be more likely to feel a sense of security and probably stop storing a large amount of food products even in tough times.

In conclusion, the escalating need for food is attributable to the increasing frequency of wars or disasters and the public concerns about the lack of food. Nevertheless, there are actions which need to be taken in order to deal with this issue, including the introduction of GM food.