Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause and suggest a possible solution.

Humanity’s reliance on motorized vehicles has reached levels never seen before in history. With the growth of economies around the world, these numbers are only going to continue to swell. I argue that pollution and the draining of world resources are the most serious problems caused by this trend. Carpooling will be suggested as an effective response to these challenges.

Firstly, pollution and the reduction of natural resources are major problems caused by humanity’s over-reliance on cars. For example, the world’s collective car exhaust has now dissolved the ozone and raised temperatures so much that certain island nations like Kiribati are at risk of vanishing. In addition to this, a statistic was recently released stating that there simply is not enough steel in the world to meet the demand for cars in China and India. As these examples show, humanity’s demand for motorised vehicles needs to be curbed or it will have extreme repercussions on both pollution and natural resource levels.

A possible solution to the above is carpooling. In select metropolitan cities, for example, reserved lanes make the practice of carpooling attractive, and this has had substantial effects on the levels of exhaust pumped into the atmosphere every day. For example, it is estimated that car exhaust fumes are almost 10% lower today than 5 years ago in countries that promote carpooling like the UK and Canada. As this shows, carpooling could be a plausible solution to humanity’s overuse of motorised vehicles.

Following this look at the challenges of motorised vehicle demand, the urgency of this situation is apparent. It is clear that something has to be done in order to reduce the impact of petrol-dependent transportation. I thus hope solutions such as carpooling lanes are put into practice in big cities the world over.