In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

There is no denying that people in industrialized countries are more likely to lengthen their life span. This situation result in a host of adverse outcomes for both individual and society as a whole and several feasible solutions can be implemented to mitigate the potential problems.

There are many reasons why several related issues of the increase in old population can be anticipated. One of primary causes is that the financial burden on national budget would be greater since governments need to pay much more money as pension and welfare for the elderly, which results in insufficient fund for other priorities such as education or infrastructure. Another contributing factor is that the shortage of labor force on working population because the proportion of young working adults is significantly smaller, thus, this situation brings several negative impact on productivity and economic development. Furthermore, the demand for healthcare and medical service will rise gradually as the aging are vulnerable and at higher risk of getting diseases. Therefore, young family members will have to sacrifice their time to look after their elderly relatives, which affect to the budget of them.

However, there are some possible measures can be taken into consideration to tackle this problem. Firstly, a simple approach is that government should increase the retirement age because people of this age are likely to be healthy enough to continue their working life. As a consequence, they receive more income, that will reduce the financial burden and tackle the issue of labor force. Another answer is that governments need to encourage people to have more children and immigration from developing countries in order to increase the number of young adult workforce in the future. Japan, a renowed country for attracting the young in developing countries such as Vietnam, Laos or Cambodia, is a typical example.

To sum up, governments should have prompt and appropriate methods to keep balance for the society and alleviate the outcomes caused by this phenomenon.