In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Our ancestors did not live more than 50-55 years. From the last century medical sector is growing rapidly in the advanced countries. Therefore, lifespan of a normal individual has increased to 60-65 years. However, many voices think that this positive trend creates many issues for persons and communities. In the following paragraphs would address the issues and propose a handful of remedial measurements.

There are many factors that helps to increase the life-span of a single person such as, medical achievements, quality of life, social and health education. Despite this positive trend, it has many problems. Firstly, it will affect the government’s budget. To elucidate this, as the agedness increases, the number of senior people increases therefore authority must provide a retirement budget and medical care fund. Secondly, the number of people senior citizens rises, automatically population density rises, which demand more housing consequently pricing of the properties rises.

However, some steps officials could consider resolving this problem. One of the ways is that authority could extend the retirement age. many developed countries retirement age is 55 years, they could increase to 60 or 65 if senior people are healthy and prime condition. Another way is that authority could obtain higher taxes from the locals and businesspersons, which could be used in government retirement funds. Therefore, it would reduce the government’s budget burden.

Furthermore, the government could provide subsidies to the new home buyer.

In conclusion, human’s life span increases, and I believe that it would demand the retirement fund and higher prices of properties. To resolve this problem administration should extend retirement age, obtained higher taxes, and provide subsidies for the properties.