In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Demographic projections suggest that lifespan in the globe is likely to grow exponentially in the upcoming years. Although the tendency towards an ageing population will trigger several unanticipated problems, the ultimate solutions to mitigate the potential problems will be examined in this essay.

To begin with, the skyrocketed increase in average life expectancy might cause a plethora of issues. Indeed, the soaring pensioners will exert severe pressure on tax duty of working adults. In practice, the slump in the number of white-collar workers deriving from the increase in the number of people receiving a pension might pose a threat to working adults to make up for the deficit money. Additionally, the ageing population could be a burden on the healthcare system. Take Japan as a prime example, the government is considering to prolong the employment age to address the overwhelm of sheltered accommodations as well as the national budget for pension fee in the country.

There are several measures that the government could implement to tackle the problems described above. Easing the strict restrictions to allow the entry for foreign labour workers appears to be an ultimate solution. This is likely to confront the problem of the lack of labour workforce derived from the year-on-year jump in the number of pensioners. Another possible way forward is to call for fundings from private enterprises to subsidize healthcare fee. Transnational companies in developing countries, for instance, are mounting yearly campaigns to raise money for improving facilities in medical systems, which, in turn, will bring comfortable and up-to-the-minute medical services to pensioners.

In conclusion, although the ageing population is turning up as an alarming issue facing every country in the world, those problems caused by this phenomenon could be handled gradually by leading policy-makers.