The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year.

What do you think of this trend?

With the prevalence of continuous assessment, including presentations and writing essays, traditional examinations no longer remain its prominence at junior schools and tertiary education. I am in favour of continuous assessment in preference to the traditional one due to the following reasons.

To begin with, harnessing continuous assessment at schools will bring about a plethora of benefits to students and teachers. First and foremost, various pieces of work in the on-going evaluation are likely to help students to steer clear of rote learning. To be more specific, frequent exams, including writing essays and presentations, tend to require students to truly grasp what they have learned, resulting in improving their academic performance. Additionally, the continuous assessment will aid teachers to evaluate students' progress fruitfully. By conducting regular evaluations, it is uncomplicated for lecturers to have a profound understanding of learners' levels, which, in turn, helps teachers make immediate adjustments to better learners' progress.

Furthermore, I am convinced that the education system should reduce the dependence on traditional exams in light of several reasons. Firstly, out-of-date exams might exert severe pressure on learners. This is because a mid-term test usually covers a wide range of sophisticated topics that demand learners to immerse themselves in set texts to study intensively. As a result, arising pressure from acing the test is likely to stress learners, especially those who are young learners at primary or secondary schools. Additionally, traditional exams are inclined to evaluate theoretical knowledge solely. This is because traditional exams tend to focus on checking learners' memory for terminologies, which fails to stimulate learners' creativeness in learning.

In conclusion, the prominence of continuous examinations might continue to take priorities over traditional exams in the years to come. Therefore, it is my firm conviction that the advantages of continuous exams surpass its drawbacks.