The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have continuous assessment over the school year.

What do you think of this trend?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge

or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

As stated by the prompt, the current trend in the educational system is to adopt a more holistic way of evaluating a student's performance by assessing one's academic improvement over the whole year rather than conducting traditional exams. I strongly advocate this trend in the current educational field. This essay deals with several reasons why continuous assesement is necessary in the present era.

There are two reasons why I champion this trend and they are as follows: Firstly, traditional exams are conducted semi-annually which means that the students are being monitored twice a year as a result of which students tend to get lethargic with regards to their studies and procrastinate their studies. Hence, they end up burning the midnight lamps and by heart their subjects to secure a good score which results in a lack of in-depth knowledge of the subject. By hearting the subjects, even a weak student ends up securing good grades which leads to falsely categorizing that student as intelligent. For instance, my school followed the traditional semi-annual exams due to which a majority of my classmates never really bothered to study the basics of the subject to gain an insight into the topic that they were studying. Instead, they chose to study a day before the exams and they succeeded in obtaining a high score. However, this had a harsh impact on their placements as they could not perform well during their job interview. This would have not been the case if they were assessed on a regular basis.

Secondly, continuous assessment over the entire school period enables in closely monitoring of the academic performance of students which provides them an insight into their areas of weakness. Furthermore, this also enables a student to easily identify the areas of their interest and can successfully pursue their career in that particular field.

In conclusion, continuous assessment enables students to improve their in-depth knowledge on a topic whereas traditional exams sometimes promote lethargy.