The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Cars are one of the most popular means of transports across the globe, especially in Great Britain where the first car was introduced on the British roads in the year 1888. There is a prediction that there might be around 29 million vehicles on British roads by the year 2000. Some are of the opinion that the public must be encouraged to use alternative means of transport and also a few international laws must be introduced to control car utilization and ownership. I strongly advocate the suggestion provided by the prompt as there are two advantages of doing so.

Firstly, stemming the total number of vehicles on the road by encouraging the inhabitants of Great Britain would help in reducing air pollution. Air pollution has reached intolerable levels in the past few years which paved way for a number of environmental issues such as global warming, climatic change, and ozone layer depletion. A recent study conducted by a research center in the USA reveals that almost 5-6% of the ozone layer in the middle latitude has already been depleted. With the rate at which the number of vehicles being driven on the British road is increasing, the ozone layer above Great Britain might deplete in the coming years. This can be prevented if the government could take measures and encourage the citizens to commute by other alternative transports available such as bus, uber pool(shared taxis), and metro.

Secondly, instigating international laws to control car ownership and use would play a key role in encouraging the residents to switch to alternative forms of transport. Imposing laws would prevent residents from purchasing extra cars unnecessarily. For instance, a family of 4 owns 3-4 cars, one for each person. This could be reduced if the government imposes stringent rules on car ownership. Furthermore, unnecessary usage of cars can also be reduced which in turn reduces the amount of traffic on the roads enabling the residents to save time which would be otherwise spent on waiting in the traffic.

Hence, imposing international laws on car ownership and utilization and also encouraging the residents to use alternative forms of transport helps in reducing pollution caused and also limits the total number of vehicles on the road which in turn prevents traffic jams.