The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is widely acknowledged that the first car appeared on British roads in 1888, and it is predicted that there will be 29 million means of transport on British roads. Accordingly, other forms of transport should be enhanced and international laws introduced to manage the usage and ownership of private cars. In my opinion, I moderately agree with this statement, and I will give reasons for my belief in this essay.

To start with, car ownership and use should be controlled due to their effects on the environment. Indeed, the operation of a car releases a great amount of carbon dioxide, which combines with methane to create a heat-trapped barrier in the atmosphere. Therefore, private cars are the crucial factors that lead to the greenhouse effect and so far climate change. Moreover, the increase in the number of individuals using private vehicles may cause a myriad of traffic issues. Undoubtedly, people will experience more traffic congestion during peak hours. As a result, there will be no optimal options rather than raising citizens' awareness of taking advantage of other types of transport as well as international laws.

From a personal perspective, I completely agree with the ideas of introducing alternative vehicles and bringing international laws into force in order to manage the number of residents owning private cars. First off, by encouraging individuals to use other means of transport, environmental issues would be reduced. Obviously, there are a number of environmentally friendly vehicles which would be considered reasonable choices. An example of that is bicycles, which are a popular form of transport in numerous countries and cities. For instance, the cycling system in Amsterdam has contributed to reducing the amount of carbon dioxide. Furthermore, by restricting the usage of private cars, there will be fewer people using these vehicles since they realise the importance of protecting the environment, and they do not want to spend a huge amount of money on penalising.

To sum up, there are many who believe that alternative forms of transport and international laws would be able to control the number of people using personal vehicles. In this essay, I argued why I am of the same opinion as this statement due to the crucial pattern that should be mentioned is the environment.