The first car appeared on the British roads in 1888. By the year 2000, there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads.

Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In 1988 the first car appeared on British roads, which became the most popular way of traveling on roads. Recent studies have shown that by the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. This raised a question to the agenda whether alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and there should be an introduction of international law on control of car ownership and use. I strongly agree with this idea because of the need to reduce problems caused by cars on the road.

To begin with, The main reason why different types and alternative ways of transportation are mandatory is to reduce pollution. As we know, cars release a huge amount of toxic gases because of petrol, but these can be reduced if cars work with cleaner sources of energy. For instance, pollution is exhaust from electric cars is less and therefore if people are encouraged to drive them this will reduce pollution.

Besides, international laws should also become fully concentrated on how cars are driven and owned to decrease road accidents. Thar recent studies have shown that crimes related to cars are done by drivers who have passed the driver's license exam by giving bribes. Hence, all exams should be done under supervision. Apart from that car theft has increased also which aggravates the issue. Due to globalization, it has become relatively easy for thieves to send stolen vehicles to other countries. To deter this activity and enable these criminals to be brought to justice international laws are required. For instance, if there were a global assembled group for cars, a vehicle’s owner could be identified in any country of the world and this would prevent a stolen car from being sold in another country.

In conclusion, I totally agree that alternative types of transportation are needed to reduce pollution and that international laws are required to reduce criminal activity related to vehicles.