More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day.

Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

A number of companies do not require their employees to go to an office each day, instead, they let them work from home or remotely. There are several pros and cons of this freedom and certainly, the pros outweigh the cons for various reasons. This essay discusses the advantages and disadvantages associated with this practice and also states the reason why the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

There are a few pros of allowing the employees to work from home. Firstly, it is the work from home policy that enables the companies to function safely during pandemic times and also helps the employees to reduce the risk of contracting the virus. Secondly, the employees save a lot of time and money squandered in commuting from their home to the workplace which enables them to spend more time on work and more also save some amount of money. For instance, a recent study conducted by Times magazine reveals that the average time spent on commuting to the workplace by an employee in a city is around 3 hours. This time could be saved if they were allowed to work from home. Thirdly, the employees get to work from their comfort zone, that is, their house which in turn increases their efficiency. Lastly, it saves the unnecessary expenses of renting a house near the workplace for those employees who do not stay in the same city as their workplace. These are a few advantages associated with this practice.

However, there is a disadvantage associated with this practice which is not as significant as the pros associated with it. Working from home tends to make the employees lethargic which reduces the quality of work delivered. The data security and the privacy of the confidential content are also compromised. Nonetheless, ensuring the safety of employees, saving the travel expenses, time, and increased efficiency play a key role in deciding the output of the employees. For example, it is possible to drive out lethargy from the employees by providing them with some attractive incentives but it is not possible to eradicate the risk of contracting the virus. Hence, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

In a nutshell, the company's policy of allowing the employees to work from home or remotely surely has a few advantages which outweigh the disadvantages. Hence, more and more companies should implement this.