The increase in the number of privately-owned cars is having a negative impact on both our towns and the environment. What can individuals and the government do to reduce this problem?

It is undeniable that people’s current living standard has been improving significantly in light of economic progression, which contributes to the soaring number of private cars. From my perspective, the sharp increase in the number of cars owned by people has several grave consequences on the environment and cities that demand both national authorities and citizens to take actions to address the problems.

To begin with, the sharp increase in car ownership proportion is triggering air pollution and traffic congestion in metropolitan areas. With respect to traffic jam, a dramatic rise in the number of private cars is likely to exert severe pressure on the transport system at the grid-locked hours traffic. Take Bangkok as a prime example, car owners usually have to queue up for hours due to the excessive number of cars on roads. In terms of air quality, carbon dioxide emission from cars is one of the dominant contributors to global warming. For example, Indonesia recently has had to move its capital to another city to ease the burden for the transportation system caused by rising individual cars.

Besides, a variety of ultimate solutions have been proposed to minimize the detrimental impacts of excessive car ownership rate on the environment and urban areas. The initial solution is to encourage individuals to oft to electric cars or public transports. For instance, Netherland is renowned for cycling to work resulting in the plummeting private cars. As a result, people’s physical health has been protected from respiratory diseases. Additionally, increasing taxes on imported cars should be taken into serious account to confront bottlenecks caused by cars. By doing this, people will tend to avoid purchasing new cars due to the fact that individuals are required to cost a fortune to buy a brand-new car.

In conclusion, increasing private cars might mirror the economic growth of a country, however, it might also bring about several unanticipated problems that require both the government and citizens to collaborate to solve.