It is true that people in industrialized nations can expect to live longer
than ever before. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative
consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these
potential problems.
As people live longer and the populations of developed countries grow
older, several related problems can be anticipated. The main issue is that
there will obviously be more people of retirement age who will be eligible
to receive a pension. The proportion of younger, working adults will be
smaller, and governments will therefore receive less money in taxes in
relation to the size of the population. In other words, an aging population
will mean a greater tax burden for working adults. Further pressures will
include a rise in the demand for healthcare, and the fact young adults will
increasingly have to look after their elderly relatives.
There are several actions that governments could take to solve the
problems described above. Firstly, a simple solution would be to increase
the retirement age for working adults, perhaps from 65 to 70. Nowadays,
people of this age tend to be healthy enough to continue a productive
working life. A second measure would be for governments to encourage
immigration in order to increase the number of working adults who pay
taxes. Finally, money from national budgets will need to be taken from
other areas and spent on vital healthcare, accommodation, and transport
facilities for the rising numbers of older citizens.
In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that
are certain to arise as the populations of countries grow older.