In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and societies? Suggest some measurements that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that people in industrialized nations expect to live longer than ever before. Although this subject may initially seem as a positive trend, it can cause serious problems for both individuals and societies. However, governments are able to alleviate these conditions by taking some intellectual steps.

As people live longer and populations in modern societies grow older, several worrying issues can be emerged. On the societal level, probably, the main problem is increment in the number of residents drawing their pension, which means that governments should allocate extra budget to meet their needs. In fact, in a right balanced community, in terms of covering various ranges of age, this money is supplied by receiving tax from young adults, which is not possible in an ageing society. From an individual perspective, having been usually disabled and unproductive, old adults are required to be cared. Consequently, a considerable amount of energy and time should be spent by their relatives, leading to have an inefficient fresh workforce in the society.

There are several measurements to tackle problems described above. A simple solution would be increasing retirement age, perhaps from 65 to 70. In some countries, like Iran, people are able to receive pension, if they work only for 30 years, normally after getting 55 year old. Therefore, it seems completely reasonable to make a change in associated laws in order to reduce the future pressure on government's shoulder. A second measure would be considering more budget to establish new appointed nursing homes or improve them, if there are. In this way, not only are ageing populations looked after under high standard of medical care, but also they can be more autonomous.

In conclusion, various simple actions can be taken to cut down the potential negative impacts of populations who are getting older.