Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Stars, particularly in recent years, have been known more for their luxury's lifestyle than their accomplishments as if tabloids are today full of the fringe news related to them. Similar to the most people, I completely agree that this trend may have negative impacts on youngsters.

In my opinion, young people are more likely to accept whatever they are able to see easily, without considering where it comes from. Having focused on the glamourous appearance of celebrities' lives, the media has wildly publicized this ideology that having this lifestyle is the only applicable way to be seen in the society. Consequently, followers, who are mainly teenagers, imitate the stars' way of life superficially. For instance, a large number of my friends are choosing to have cosmetic surgery to be similar their favorite actress. Clearly, if they were informed well about the way that their preferred stars went to achieve the current position, they would perhaps not just copy their appearance. This trend, gradually, makes society full of narrow-minded individuals far away the reality of the world.

At the same time, considering celebrities as role model may deter the young from education. In fact, it is obvious that a majority of TV personalities, sportsmen and actors, who are selected by young people as favorite star, did not have academic education or at best, graduated in an irrelevant field. Thus, they may convey this message to youngsters that education is not an effective factor to be prosperous, resulting in an increasing reduction in students' motivation. A good example is my niece; when he is asked about his goals, he immediately says that being a professional soccer player is his lifelong ambition. This easily illustrates that how wealthy well-known individuals' lives is attention- grabbing for young generation and unconsciously makes them to be sensationalist.

In conclusion, I believe that attaching greater importance to celebrities' charm than their achievements can influence the young negatively and make them to be shallow and unmotivated.