Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

It is evident that driving and its associated subjects have always had direct effects on people's life and it is needed to be improved continuously according to the current conditions. Retaking the driving test periodically is a living proof of that which some experts believe it should be mandatory. While this issue may follow some drawbacks, it undoubtedly brings enormous benefits to both society and government.

If people particularly those having driving licence are asked to participate in driving test every 5 years, they may consider this as a time and money consuming activity. Having imposed this law, it is required for people to take part in driving lessons and spend a considerable cost and energy, even they are qualified enough. For more clarification, if people are considered to be able to drive for on average 60 years, they will be needed to repeat an almost similar process for 12. This may seem to be unreasonable.

With considering all mentioned above, enforcing this law can remarkably benefit people. Firstly, because of the progressive technology in construction of new-shaped roads and streets, abolishing some useless road rules and introducing new ones is unavoidable. Having retaken the driving test, people are trained these new rules which definitely is an effective way to prevent road accidents. At the same time, the more age people reach, the more problem related to their healthy conditions emerge. For instance, they may need to use glasses while they are driving, or perhaps attach an alarming sign to their cars showing others they are to some extent deaf. Drivers usually do not pursue these serious issues unless they have to do.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages of implementation this new law, it can be considered as an investment. In fact, not only does it address some driving issues, but also it can have many long term and useful consequences.