In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

In contemporary society, people’s longevity is higher than ever before, and retirees can enjoy the last part of their life more than in any previous generations. However, this comes with the high pressure on their family. This essay will articulate the issue and propose some solutions to address these.

The main problem that elderly people could cause to their family is the pressure of taking care of them. Although this was true in the past, care for old people is now far more costly, including fees for food, clothes and accommodation and especially health-related products like medicine. Since old people tend not to work, paying for these expenditures are often the responsibility of their children or grandchildren. In addition, in many families nowadays, many people have to sacrifice their working time to take care of their old family members if they are hospitalized, leading to even further pressure on the family financially.

To resolve all of that, both individuals and governments need to take responsibility. Within a family, all members should equally share the burden of taking care of the old in terms of both time and money, in order to alleviate any unexpected outcomes for each individual. On societal level, governments should give more supports to the old in many ways such as providing pensions, building care homes and investing more in health care services specializing in senior citizens. For example, in Vietnam, the government has established for many years a policy of providing health services for old people with the lowest prices possible. This has allowed many of them, especially those from rural areas, to access health care services and enjoy their life longer any better.

In conclusion, although taking care of the old could be challenging for many modern families, this could be addressed if individuals play their roles reasonably and the government supports effectively.