In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Thanks to an improvement of society, people in the modern world are living longer. Although there will be undoubtedly some negative consequences of this trend, these potential problems can be mitigated if several practical solutions are implemented.

As having the longer life expectancy, several related problems can be anticipated. The main issue is that lacking labor force which is likely to decrease worker efficiency. Further, the more people retire on pensions, the more it burdens on the welfare system. That is to say, it could consume a proportion of national budget which is from tax payer's expense as well as makes a little contribution to society. In addition, there is possibly a lot of conflicts between old and young people in families which means that it is difficult to bridge a generation gap.

However, these problems might be addressed by some measures that are proposed below. One solution could be to extend the retirement age from 60 to 65 as a result of the improvement of life qualities which makes people healthy enough to ensure productivity of work. This would allow old people to contribute more to the community as well as increase the number of working adults who pay taxes. A further measure can be for the government to change child policy in order to balance age of the population. That is to say, the government should have a tendency to encourage childbirth by creating a favorable maternity leave.

In conclusion, various measures can be taken to tackle the problems that are certain to arise as the populations grow older.