In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing.

What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The last few decades have seen enormous changes in the way people lives are related to increasing life expectancy. This led to major health problems for individuals and considerable decline in the society productivity and income. This essay will reveal the potential repercussions of aging along with providing some solutions.

One concern in terms of increasing age of individuals is that elder people will suffer from life menacing diseases. This is because deterioration of body organs with ageing, which in turn leads to development of lethal conditions such as cancer, stroke, and myocardial infarction. In particular, a new study stated that patients aged more than 65 years were eight times more susceptible to develop colon cancer, in contrast to those less than 65-years-old. To tackle this issue, local municipalities should impose a comprehensive screening program for early detection and timely management of different diseases among elderly population. This might result in decreasing the mortality rate and improving quality of life.

Turning to the impact of increasing life expectancy on society, it can be clearly evident that the social integration might be affected negatively. That is to say, the ratio between young adults and elderly people can be reversed, which in turn leads to a noticeable collapse in the productivity and income of the society. For example, in Germany, the number of qualified-hand- workers experienced dramatic decline throughout the past era. This is because employers may loss the capability to work with aging. To overcome this issue, qualified elderly population shall educate young people to take the responsibilities. If the local authorities establish the adequate educational programs early, the national income of any society will increase dramatically.

In conclusion, two of the main increasing life expectancy-related issues are that elderly people will suffer from life menacing disorders and the local income of the society may be affected noticeably. Thereafter, the government and local municipalities should employ the required health and working-related programs to overcome the issues caused by aging.