In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

Populations of industrialized nations indeed grow older. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies could take steps to address this issue.

There are several problems with the growing population of elderly people. Firstly, when people expect to live longer, the number of retired people will increase. This would lead to a rise in claim pension benefits and a decline in the proportion of working-age people paying income taxes. Higher pension expenditure, as well as lower tax revenues, would have a significant impact on the national budget and the economy as a whole. Secondly, increasing average life expectancy would put a heavy burden on the health care system. Specifically, the elderly people could be more vulnerable to chronic diseases such as heart attacks, cancer, so they would require special medical treatments and long-term care. Governments would have to devote a larger budget to health insurance that serves senior citizens.

The government could take a variety of measures to tackle the problems raised by rising lifespans. The first solution would be to encourage the immigration of working-age people to increase income taxes for the government. This money could lessen the pressure of national spending on healthcare, accommodations, facilities when the number of older citizens rises. Another measure would be to promote elderly health including the encouragement of healthy diets, more active lifestyles, and the reduction of tobacco, alcohol. A healthier population could lead to higher saving rates, lower medical expenses. The healthier senior citizens are better able to continue working longer and enhance their productivity in work.

In conclusion, various measures could be taken to deal with the problems that are certain to arise with the growth of the average expectancy.