In the developed world, the average life expectancy is increasing. What problem will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations

Life span has been going up quickly in developed nations which has brought about some downsides to the world. Nevertheless, with the development of human society, these effects can be diminished by some measures which I will discuss below.

Increased longevity causes negative effects on both individuals and society. As for individuals, living longer means being more vulnerable to chronic diseases. Human body deteriarates over time, when the body gets older, it is unable to function probably. This makes one easily contract diseases such as Alzheimer’s, etc. as well as unable to defend against infections. Additionally, ageing population also add more costs to state’s spending. The majority of elderly live on pension which virtually comes from state budget. The longer the people live, the more money needed on pension. Furthermore, senior people tend to need more specialized care due to their health status, which means increases in costs of medicatioin.

However, there are some some steps that both government and individuals can take to mitigate these problems. Firstly, in regard to individuals, one should always try to improve their health both mentally and phisically. A nutrious diet together with a regular workour routine can enhence one’s physical strength, which helps people stay away from some diseases as well as recover from illness faster. Meanwhile, good laughs accompanied by edaquate rest and relaxation can boost one’s mentality and happiness, which is just as important as taking medication. Secondly, with the major role, government can help alleviate the issue by improving healthcare system as well as increase retirement age. If healthcare system is improved, people can lead a better life and treatment costs will be reduced, which means less burden on state’s budget. In addition, If people are allowed to work longer, they will be less dependant on pension and more importantly they will contribute more to the society with their knowledge and experience.

Overall, various means can be taken to offset potential problems from the ageging population. It is crucial that both individuals and governments work together in this venture.